Wirenet Image Band
wirenet.org mobile image band
× Nonferrous topics such as copper and aluminum, annealing, etc. go here.

tramlines and blemishes

• Mr david barrow
  • Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
More
10 years 10 months ago #2566 by Mr david barrow
tramlines and blemishes was created by Mr david barrow
Hello all,

I am a quality Engineer for a wire and stranding manufacturer.

we are experiencing quality issues with copper being supplied to us, we are seeing tramlines and blemishes, this occurs after performing a torsion test(twisting the wire on its axis 14 times to the left then 7 to the right)

The supplier is using a zero slip breakdown machine, we are going to help the supplier with some problem solving to try and find the root cause.

The question? Has anyone experienced the same defect modes? And what was the root cause or causes,

sizes affected 1.600mm,1.400mm and 1.000mm Copper

many thanks.

Please Log in to join the conversation.

More
10 years 10 months ago - 10 years 10 months ago #2569 by Peter J Stewart-Hay
Replied by Peter J Stewart-Hay on topic Re: tramlines and blemishes
Hello Mr. Barrow,

1) What are "tramlines" on the wire? Are they say just surface marks longitudinally along the wire 's longitudinal axis or are they cracks or grooves. Please define more precisely. Take a good look at them under a microscope and advise. Can you get a micro-photograph that can be attached to the Forums?

2) Is this wire annealed at your suppliers? Electrically in line with drawing or in an annealing furnace?

3) What are these "blemishes" you refer to?. You can find out more information about surface blemish descriptions at the archived thread www.wirenet.org/forum/8-nonferrous/1357-copper-discoloration

4) Is this torsion test performed during a very short period of time and is the wire sample under test getting quite hot?

Your problem is a puzzlement for now until we receive more definitive information from you.

Thank you.

Regards,